;

starherald.com: Opinion

Opinion

rss feed

Opinion

OPINION: Speak up

Take a drive in almost any direction in western Nebraska and you’ll find downtowns in decline. Some communities are virtual commercial ghost towns, sustained only by long-term residents, churches, post offices and — if they’re lucky — perhaps a school and a coffee shop.

  • icon Posted: June 01

Recent Opinion Articles

Saturday 05/30/2015
AWTRY: Straddling a fence is never a good idea
Posted: May 30, 2015

The Environmental Protection Agency is that danged if you do, danged if you don’t, federal agency people love to hate or hate to love. I should know; I am one of them.

Friday 05/29/2015
FREDERICK: We’re pleased to be supporters of local community landscaping efforts
Posted: May 29, 2015

As the birthplace of Arbor Day, Nebraska enjoys a long history as a place where people work to enhance the outdoors. People with in interest in the state’s quality of life understand that trees bring color, shade and variety to the lush grasses of prairie country.

SCHANEMAN: Tell us what you want to see in the Star-Herald
Posted: May 29, 2015

It’s easy to get cynical about the news.

Thursday 05/28/2015
OPINION: Purple politics
Posted: May 28, 2015

When Nebraska lawmakers dared to contemplate repeal of the death penalty this session, it left some conservatives spitting mad. How could state senators paddle against the state’s reliably conservative tide?

Tuesday 05/26/2015
OPINION: Death penalty
Posted: May 26, 2015

Against the backdrop of a political battle over whether Nebraska should retain the death penalty, one of the state’s most notorious murderers died on Death Row over the weekend.

COLUMN: Officer shot blocks from our house. Are we leaving? No way
Posted: May 26, 2015

A police officer was killed just a couple of blocks from my home Wednesday.

Sunday 05/24/2015
AWTRY: Help me, I am addicted to America!
Posted: May 24, 2015

They say the road to an addict’s recovery is first admitting you have a problem. So, I’ll admit it. I have a problem. I am hooked on politics and have been for years!

Friday 05/22/2015
FREDERICK: Could small peer support groups help more students fill local jobs?
Posted: May 22, 2015

There’s rarely been a better time to be job-hunting in Scottsbluff. If you’ve completed high school and can pass a background check and drug test, you’re in demand.

Loading…

Today's Poll

Loading…