Western Nebraska Community College is proud to announce that the following students were honored on the spring 2020 President’s List (4.0 GPA) and Dean’s List (3.40-3.99 GPA).

Chance Symons, a 10th grade student at Scottsbluff High School, has earned a position on the Nebraska Homeschooled National High School rodeo team.

Jay Milburn of Chadron is among 41 recent high school graduates selected to join the latest cohort of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s Jeffrey S. Raikes School of Computer Science and Management.

The Upper Niobrara White Natural Resources District (UNWNRD) held the first annual amateur photo contest, soliciting photos of natural resource related subjects from residents within the District including Box Butte, Dawes, Sheridan and Sioux counties. With nearly 50 photos submitted from ac…

Chadron State College alumna Lindsey Boardman of Medicine Bow, Wyoming, earned the Maitland P. Simmons Memorial Award from the National Science Teaching Association (NSTA) in March. The award is one of 15 given annually to educators who are in the first five years of their teaching careers.

Talera Marie Kinsey, 2020 Summa Cum Laude SHS graduate, tied with 22 other classmates for first position (4.0 GPA) at Scottsbluff High School. Her rank remains 1 of 200.

We accept many different kinds of announcements. Just click on the button below and submit a form.

Sign A Guestbook

Offer a personal message of congratulations...

You'll find individual Guest Books on the page with each announcement. By sharing a positive thought you add happiness to the lives of those who are reaching a new life milestone. . . From a Guest Book, you may log in with a third-party account to leave a message. If you have an existing account with this site, you may log in with that. Otherwise, it's simple to create a new one by clicking on the Create "Sign up" button and following the simple steps on the Sign Up page.

Kellie Waugh of Chadron was named to the College of Charleston Spring 2020 Dean’s List. Waugh is majoring in Public Health. To quality for Dean’s List (Distinguished), students must earn a GPA of 3.600 or higher and complete a minimum of 14 semester hours.

Three Outstanding seniors, Tukker Romey of Gering High School; Sadie Cooley, of Morrill High School; and Brisa Rios of Scottsbluff High School have each been named one of the Gering Monument Business and Professional Women 2020 scholarship recipients.

The 47th Commencement of Northeast Community College took place recently. Due to the Directed Health Measures that are in effect due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s event was a virtual ceremony.


Eastern Wyoming College announced the honor rolls for the spring 2020 semester. There were 126 students receiving recognition for achieving high scholastic grades.

Traditionally, the Chadron State College Health Professions staff and faculty host an awards banquet each April to honor students who have been accepted by professional schools. This year, however, that was not possible due to public health recommendations. Director of the CSC Health Profess…

The North Platte (NPNRD), South Platte (SPNRD), and Upper Niobrara White (UNWNRD) Natural Resources Districts partnered with the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and others to promote no-till and conservation tillage production in the Panhandle.


As a leading provider of news, information and advertising in Scottsbluff and Gering, today we are proud to announce the launch of our Local Marketing Grant program. This program offers matching marketing funds to local businesses whose livelihood has been impacted by the outbreak of the COV…


Local businesses are a linchpin of our community, and they need the support of their loyal customers now more than ever. Buy Local is a new partnership connecting us to these vitally important local businesses through an online marketplace: https://localbusiness.lee.net/scottsbluff-star-herald

Honor Rebecca Meister Rebecca Meister, daughter of Randall and Sherry Meister of Rocklin CA. granddaughter to Robert and Vicki Meister of Mitchell NE., celebrated her graduation from Simmons University, Boston Massachusetts with a Master of Science degree in Applied Behavioral Analysis. We a…

Honors Christine Humphrey Your aunts, Renea, Lisa-Ann & Lisa, and your uncles, Blake & Brent, are incredibly proud of everything that you have accomplished in your high school career, as well as of the person you've become over the last 18 years. We wish that we could be in Morrill w…

Honors Harrison Bice Harrison Bice is a member of the Scottsbluff High School's Class of 2020 which was originally scheduled to hold commencement exercises on May 17, 2020. In lieu of recent events, the in-person ceremony was postponed with dates yet to be determined as the COVID-19 situatio…

Chadron State College honored 315 candidates for graduation in a virtual commencement exercise Saturday at 10 a.m. Associate Professor Dr. Kurt Kinbacher wprovided the message to the graduating class.

Paul and Jenny Murrell of Mitchell announce with great pride the graduation of their daughter, Dr. Chelsea Murrell/Rudloff from Bryan College of Health Sciences.

Harrison Bice is a member of the Scottsbluff High School’s Class of 2020 which was originally scheduled to hold commencement exercises on May 17, 2020. In lieu of recent events, the in-person ceremony was postponed with dates yet to be determined as the COVID-19 situation evolves.

Jayden Garrett of Chadron was among 45 students who have been named Chancellor’s Scholars at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Jerrod Fedorchik of Gering was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Fedorchik was initiated at South Dakota State University.

Jake Paschke from Boy Scout Troop 17 of Gering has earned Scouting’s highest rank, the Eagle Scout. Jake has been a member of Troop 17 for the past four years.

A Scottsbluff native is among three Nebraskans being honored by the University of Nebraska Medical Center during its virtual commencement for their significant contributions.

Jess Pilkington, Edward Jones financial advisors in Gering, qualified for the firm’s 2020 Financial Advisor Leaders Conference.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.



Breaking News