HiWay 92 Raceway set for final race Saturday

Brinna Phillips leads Savannah Hickman as they come out of turn two during a July race. The final race of the season will conclude Saturday.

The final race of the season for Hiway 92 Raceway Park will take place  Saturday, Sept. 28 when the Lee Schwartzkopf Shootout takes place with six divisions taking to the track.

The final race of the season will begin with qualifying around 2:15 p.m. and races shortly afterwards.

The divisions on hand for the big season-ending race include the Minions, Figure 8s, Super Stock, Legends, Farm Trucks, and the Bandoleros.

The Shootout will be a great ending to an excellent season that saw plenty of exciting action, including the final week of the regular season on Saturday.

The Minions had the only driver that captured all four events as Brody James started the night off with the fastest qualifying time. The youngster then won the trophy dash followed by the heat race. In the main event, James took the checkered flag ahead of Avery Bernhardt and Brinna Phillips.

Tim Bland also had a big night in the Farm trucks. Bland picked up the fastest qualifying time and then won the trophy dash. Bland won the heat race and didn’t get a chance for a fourth win on the night as the Farm Trucks main was called because of rain.

The Vintage and Super Stock races had different winners all through the night, showing the competitiveness of the drives.

The Vintage class had four different winners on the night. Brian Harden started things with the fastest qualifying time. Harden’s quicktime, however, didn’t hold up in the races as three different drivers captured the trophy, heat, and main event races.

Rod Graves, Sr., won the trophy dash before Kelly Kister edged Graves in the heat race. The main event saw Harley Graves cross the checkered finish line ahead of Harden for the win.

The Super Stock also saw some exciting action. Pine Bluffs’ Jesse Fornstrom won two races, winning the trophy dash and then won the heat race over Quicktime winner Kyle Austin.

When it came to the main event, point leader Tyler Knight came through with the win, spoiling Fornstrom’s chance of winning all three races. Fornstrom finished second in the main ahead of the third-place driving of Dave Waechter.


Vintage – Brian Harden

Minions – Brody James

Super Stock – Kyle Austin

Farm Trucks – Tim Bland

Trophy Dash

Vintage – Rod Graves, Sr.

Minions – Brody James

Super Stock נJesse Fornstrom

Farm Trucks – Tim Bland


Heat – 1, Kelly Kister. 2, Rod Graves, Sr. 3, Harley Graves. 4, Brian Harden. 5, Larry Collins.

Main – 1, Harley Graves. 2, Brian Harden. 3, Larry Collins. 4, Kelly Kister. 5, Rod Graves, Sr.


Heat נ1, Brody James. 2, Brinna Phillips. 3, Dalton Gass. 4, Porter Kelley. 5, Savanna Hickman. 6, Avery Bernhardt.

Main – 1, Brody James. 2, Avery Bernhardt. 3, Brinna Phillips. 4, Savanna Hickman. 5, Dalton Gass. 6, Porter Kelley.

Super Stock

Heat – 1, Jesse Fornstrom. 2, Kyle Austin. 3, Tyler Knight. 4, Dave Waechter. 5, Miller Brothers.

Main – 1, Tyler Knight. 2, Jesse Fronstrom. 3, Dave Waechter. 4, Miller Brothers. 5, Kyle Austin.

Farm Trucks

Heat – 1, Tim Bland. 2, Allan Cress. 3, Terry Gass.

Sign Up for Star-Herald.com Email Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.