SIDNEY — Eight high schools arrived at the Sidney High School Performing Arts Center early Friday, Nov. 30, to compete in the Class B-6 district one-act competition.

Gordon-Rushville High School was named the district champion after receiving one perfect score and only one point off from one judge and two points off from the other judge. They advance to the Class B State Play Production contest in Norfolk on Friday, Dec. 7, at 8:15 a.m.

The all-day contest consisted of 30 minute presentations from every school, with 15-minute intervals between the performances. Mitchell opened the district contest, followed by Sidney, Chadron, and Alliance before a lunch break. Gering opened up the afternoon performances, ahead of Gordon-Rushville, McCook, and Ogallala. 

Chadron High School’s one-act of “Rosie the Riveter” was named the runner-up. Finishing third through eighth were Ogallala, Sidney, McCook, Alliance, Mitchell and Gering.

“Gering ended their season with a great performance by our students, but we didn’t fare as well as we hoped against the tough competition in our district,” said Jennifer Dillinger, Gering one-act director. “On a positive note, Isaiah Henderson, Cole Bevins, and Olivia Longmore received outstanding performance awards, and the team did receive a superior rating from our judges.”

Aside from the school placings, the actors and actresses were recognized with outstanding performance certificates. In Mitchell’s play “The Mad Tea Party,” Kiayah Taylor, John Plasencio, Jessie Lamp, Kenna Krahulik, Alexis Funk, Kyleigh Adkins and Lexie Jackson were recognized.

Tristan Ahrendt, Tom Short, Sophie Price, Mason Nightingale and Jonas Johnson were recognized in Sidney’s one-act “Gilligan’s Island.”

Chadron’s actors and actresses recognized in “Rosie the Riveter” include: Keelynd Clinton, Abigail Hyer, Claire Margetts, Jameson Margetts, Sydney Brown and Mandelin Wollesen.

Brielle Alwin, Tristan Bleisch, Chloe Blumanthal and Stephen Reid were recognized in the Alliance one-act “Hamlette.”

In the one-act play “Candide” by Gering's Coleton Bevins, Isaiah Henderson, and Olivia Longmore received outstanding performance recognition.

Gordon-Rushville High School performed the play “Nicholas Nickleby,” with the following students recognized for their performance: Berklie Haag, Evan Jones-Hazledine, Elijah Jackson, Damian Holeman, Ryan Wellnitz and Zachary Wellnitz.

“The show was beautiful at districts,” said Gordon-Rushville one-act director Candie Johnson. “The judges said our characters were believable. They felt their pain. They said the stage pictures were beautiful and the acting was excellent.”

In the McCook one-act of “The Yellow Boar,” Thomas Weyeneth, Alyssa Tucker, Connor Sandall and Erica Hoyt received recognition for their acting.

In the one-act “Something Wicked This Way Comes,” put on by the Ogallala one-act students, Benjamin Thalken, Peyton Guy, Jordyn Kenkel, Seth Eveland and Emma Krab, were recognized for their outstanding performances.

We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Lauren Brant is a reporter with the Star-Herald and the Gering Courier. Contact her at 308-632-9043 or by email at

Recommended for you