Pioneers selected for all-star game

The Western Nebraska Pioneers will once again be well represented at the Expedition League All-Star Game next week in Minot, North Dakota.

A total of 10 players and head coach Jimmy Turk were selected to the Clark Division’s all-star team. The game will be played on Tuesday at Corbett Field, which is the home of the Souris Valley Sabre Dogs.

The six Pioneer position players earning all-star selections were outfielders Jacen Roberson and Cole Gambill, infielders Colin Ludwig, Kole Kaler and Zack Peterson, and catcher Will Olson.

Ty Bothwell, Andrei Stoyanow, Josh Robins, and Landon Odom all earned spots on the Clark team’s pitching staff.

Ludwig is leading the Pioneers with a .374 hitting average. Roberson is right behind at .368 and Peterson is hitting .354. All three are in the top six of the entire Expedition League. Olson is batting .318, Kaler .317 and Gambill .306.

Peterson and Olson are tied for the team lead in runs batted in at 28. Ludwig and Roberson have each drove in 21. Gambill has hit 20 RBI and Kaler has drove in 16.

On the mound, Bothwell is at the top of the Expedition League’s in earned run average at 0.71, also leading the league in wins with six in seven starts. Stoyanow has earned four wins in five starts with a 0.60 ERA. Josh Robins, another stud starter, owns a 0.85 ERA with two wins in three starts. Out of the bullpen, Landon Odom has appeared in 12 games with a 1.44 ERA, grabbing one win and one save.

The Pioneers will have plenty of team to get accustomed to Corbett Field prior to the all-star contest. Western Nebraska will head to Minot for a four-game series with the Sabre Dogs before entering the all-star break.

Sign Up for Email Alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Reporter

Preston Goehring is a staff reporter at the Star-Herald. Contact him at 308-632-9051 or by email at

Recommended for you